/kənˈtentmənt/

  • A state of happiness and satisfaction

word of the year.

2016 was when I finished up my first year at my job.

2016 was a year of trying to find out who I really am.

I spent money, emotions, and time on people I wanted to love.

Same goes for places and things I tried.

2016 was a year to try what I never dared to before.

I searched. I found. I got hurt. I loved. 

But in the end, what did I really find?

Clarity.

Money? Time? People?

An abundance of these things mean nothing. I searched for what would make me happy. It wasn’t a room full of people. It wasn’t inserting my credit card in the chip machine. It wasn’t days of nothing.

I found happiness in the simplicity of having a cup of coffee in a quiet house while reading my daily text.

I found happiness in sitting on a cliff, sharing a bag of Trader Joe’s dried mangos with people I had just met.

I found happiness in setting up a Travelers Notebook to document all aspects of life.

I found happiness in taking my dog on walks through the neighborhood.

I found happiness in getting to assembly early to talk to one older sister who had enough stories to share for the rest of my life.

So 2017?

I welcome 2017 with open arms as long as it is a journey to find contenment.

2017 will be a year to simplify. A year to be content with what I have. A year to love those who love me.

Simplify. Whether it is materially, financially, or emotionally.

I have things to start with already. I know what makes me happy:

  • Jehovah (the Bible)
  • The people I love
  • Coffee
  • Exploring
  • Writing

I searched in 2016.

And what I found will follow me into 2017,

To make me happy.

To make me peaceful.

To make me content.

Hello 2017.

Treat me well.

Sincerely,

M ❤️



2 thoughts on “Contenment.

Leave a Reply

